Press Trip on Catalina Island!


Hey Guys!

Check out the latest from my Candid Moments Vlog!

Recently I had the opportunity to explore some of Catalina Island on a press trip and wanted to share some of my experience with you.

In the comment section below, let me know if you’ve ever visited the Island.  It’s a total charmer!

Click here to check out my full review of my experience via Dave’s Travel Corner and click here to check out my adventure on my YouTube channel, MGPTravelBlog.

Take a peek at more content from my adventure:

Click here to watch: “Press Trip on Catalina Island!”

Click here to watch “Meet My Assistant & Prepping for Press Trip”

Click here to watch more from my Day Trip Travel Series Playlist.

Click here to watch and here to read another piece published on Dave’s Travel Channel: “Cosimo Cavallaro’s Jelly Beans – Art Exhibit” 

Hope you enjoyed your weekend,

Meghan Sig

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Press Trip on Catalina Island!

  1. Cassie November 11, 2013 at 12:03 pm Reply

    Hi Meghan, you got great video footage during the Catalina trip and I’m excited to find your vlog! I’ve never done anything with travel video (beyond quick iphone video clips of pretty vistas) but I’m just about to buy a GoPro for some upcoming trips! Do you have any tips for shooting video, video editing, and putting clips together in a way that makes sense? I’m a little intimidated by making video!

    • Meghan's Guilty Pleasures Travel Blog November 11, 2013 at 12:13 pm Reply

      Hey Cassie! Thanks for your thoughts. Honestly, I’m a button pusher and have found it to be all about trial & error.

      I initially played around with editing via Windows Movie Maker… but it was super basic! Last month I went for it and bought an iMac… and I LOVE it. No turning back – I’m a total convert.

      I have been stumbling my way through iMovie, but it’s coming along. There are so many options & you’re only limited by your creativity.

      Funny enough, I was going to snag my fiancé’s GoPro also to see what the quality & footage would be like. We’ll have to experiment together.

      I’m finding less is more & I’m trying to cut down my footage minutes to make viewing more appealing.

      Try a shorty. If anything, viewers seem to like something as simple as a panning shot with fun music overlaid.

      Send me a link if you upload anything!

      Btw, working on a more formal review of our trip. Have you done any coverage?

      • Cassie | Ever In Transit November 11, 2013 at 5:13 pm

        Great tips, Meghan! I think I’m most afraid of winding up with a terrabyte of video files and not know what the heck to do with it all (especially cutting it back to a bite sized lenght of a few minutes, as you say!) I will try something soon and let you know! And I’m working on a Catalina article tonight (sorting through my photos now) Hopefully have it up by tomorrow or Wed., I’ll let you know!

      • Meghan's Guilty Pleasures Travel Blog November 11, 2013 at 8:35 pm

        Perfect! Same here. I’m a bit backlogged with content and am trying to finish up my Catalina content this week. I’ll keep an eye out…

Let me know what your thoughts are!

