Product Review: Train Reaction (Travel Accessory)


Recently I was giving the opportunity to try out a new travel accessory called Train Reaction, or TR Device.

 

 

 

 

 

What It Does:

The ability to roll two pieces of luggage with one hand so that it frees up the other for on-the-go travel convenience. 

Facts:

  • Plastic device weighs 3 oz
  • Carry up to 100 lbs
  • Price point $14.95
  • Made in USA

Experience:

Overall I am happy with Train Reaction.  I gave it a good test run through airports, in and out of rental cars, hotel lobbies, and various other places with twist, turns, and streight aways.

I like that the product is smooth, malleable, and very light weight.  As a frequent solo traveler I can use all the help I can get.  I do my best to be a smart packer and not overwhelm myself with things, but I was grateful for the extra help.  This accessory enables you to have one piece of luggage piggy back on another and free up your other hand for coffee, travel documents, or even a kid’s hand. 

I found the TR Device to be pretty versatile.  I could roll luggage around, forward, and backward.  I even made a run for it, hopped a curb, and it hung in there – not to say that I didn’t have to rearrange it a bit. 

I would say the accessory takes a little getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, it’s pretty straightforward. I became flustered at the airport when I was running very late and was glad that someone had thought to add a small info sticker attached directly to the device. 

Things to look out for:

This accessory does well rounding corners and down streight aways, so long as it’s attached properly.  The person I was traveling with wanted to try it, accidentally attached it incorrectly, and found themselves constantly trying to rearrange the luggage.

Be sure to look out for stairs and escalators.   If you are negotiating a stairwell, I would definitely disconnect it and carry your pieces by hand.  If your presented with just a few stairs, I would take it easy and carefully guide the connected pieces; you should be good to go.   Escalators are doable since the plastic has some give as the stairs move, but just keep an eye on your luggage to make sure they don’t overpower the accessory. 

There are times that the luggage gets a bit squirrely because they are not centered on top of each other.   To help avoid this, I would recommend pivoting the luggage so it’s rolling on just one set of wheels as you make corners. 

Lastly, there are times where the luggage will roll away from each other.  It’s probably just a case of needing to get used to the accessory, but you can easily rearrange the pieces back in a leaning position.

Would I use it again?

Yes, actually I would.  I love that it’s lightweight, I can stash it in an outer side pocket of my luggage, and frees up a hand for coffee, texting, or documents while in line. 

As far as I can tell, you can only order Train Reaction from their website.  This product would be a great fit for a travel store and I hope to see them in something like the Container Store or Flight 001.

I would love to hear your thoughts.  Have you tried this product?  What is your must have travel accessory?

Disclaimer: PR Sample – This product was sent to me for consideration.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Let me know what your thoughts are!

