A Solo Traveler’s Angst About Traveling with a Non-Traveler


Had a difficult conversation with a loved one recently.

We have two different perspectives on travel.  For me it’s my passion, for them it’s a hassle….I’m generalizing a bit.

We were in conversation about a few recent and upcoming trips and it left me a bit down.  We both went or are going on the exact same trip, but it’s interesting (or heartbreaking) that we have two different takes on the experience.  Everyone is entitled to their own thoughts and feelings.  I don’t want to be under the illusion that you’re having an amazing time; I prefer people to be frank.  That being said, I try to put it in perspective and find a way to work within it. 

The conversation confirmed my position as a solo traveler.  Sometimes I just want to go.  I don’t want to be held back by someone elses budget, time restraints, interest or lack of interest.  I’m not saying that this person or any person you enjoy spending time with isn’t an amazing individual.  But when it comes to passion, you really want to share it with a kindred spirit. 

Typically I travel solo, but I play well with others.  I’ve enjoyed recent shared trips and am looking forward to some upcoming ones as well.  I tend to have a format when I travel solo, but I like the variety and perspective of sharing a trip with someone else.  Solo travel can be quite a deliciously selfish experience, yet shared trips make me feel like I’m trying something new and being open to other’s interests. 

I find travel exhilarating, the other person informed me that they find it to be a hassle. 

I find more pleasure in experiences, not things.  The other person wants things, and is not so concerned about the experiences.  Again, I’m heavily paraphrasing, but there’s a definite tone that can’t be ignored. 

The person had a point.  Travel is expensive and requires a good amount of effort.  Why not focus those funds on the home front.  Why not create the home life you want rather than constantly traveling to costly hotels that leave you underwhelmed.  This person felt that with all the funds spent on accommodations throughout the year, you could probably buy the very amenities that you seek out: jacuzzi, feather bed, latest flat screen, etc.  This person felt that you could funnel all of those funds and create your very own paradise right here at home.

Point taken….but why does it make me feel down?

So, I’m a solo traveler that has a few more trips scheduled with a non-traveler.  Are either of us going to get anything out of the experience?  Are we just going through the motions to appease our obligations?  Travel gives me an inner glow, but this really takes the wind out of my sails. 

Are you a solo traveler?  If so, is it by choice or by circumstance? 

If you have a passion for travel like I do, that means that you’re probably exploring either on a small to large-scale relatively frequently.  How do you juggle your home/personal life with those around you that are pretty rooted?

Would love to hear your thoughts…

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “A Solo Traveler’s Angst About Traveling with a Non-Traveler

  1. sarahinthegoldencircle May 15, 2012 at 11:03 am Reply

    That is really too bad. Given the choice, I prefer having a travel buddy–it’s fun to have a friend back home to share the memories with, and splitting costs with someone definitely helps! It does have to be someone who’s a “kindred spirit,” though, to use your words.

    I’m sorry, but why on earth spend money on the flat screen when you can spend it on an amazing experience you’ll remember forever?! That I’ll never understand.

    Good luck on those trips

    • Meghan's Guilty Pleasures Travel Blog May 15, 2012 at 11:06 am Reply

      Thanks!

      I guess I go into a different traveling mindset when I’m with someone who’s not crazy about traveling. But I’m pretty good at making the most of it.

      Don’t get me wrong, I love nice things, but experiences are more important to me.

      • sarahinthegoldencircle May 15, 2012 at 12:22 pm

        Oh no! I think I didn’t phrase myself well. I was trying to say that I agree with you that the experiences are more important 🙂

        I also have a number of friends who’d go for a tv (or really expensive sunglasses, in one case) over buying a plane ticket. I just sort of tilt in confusion, and love them anyways 😉

      • Meghan's Guilty Pleasures Travel Blog May 15, 2012 at 1:09 pm

        haha, me too!

  2. Christina May 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm Reply

    A hassle!? Kind of makes me sad. It also bothers me when people will say they have vacations days at work that are going to expire, or that traveling costs too much money. No, it really doesn’t..you don’t have to be at a 5-star resort to be travelling! Or people that say “Oh yeah we’re gonna go there one day!” when you know odds are, they won’t because they make material things a priority.

Let me know what your thoughts are!

