Top Safety Tips for Women Traveling Solo – Pt 2


Hi Ladies,

I love a good adventure – but come home with good stories, not sob stories.

This is not a paranoia post – it just never hurts to keep an eye open. Ultimately no one will take better care of you… then you. These tips are for when you’re on the go.

5. When in doubt, don’t say a word. This is for the easy brush off situation, not an emergency. If someone is overly chatty and you feel as though it’s some sort of pick up line, you don’t have to actually say anything. I’ve had someone sidle up to me, make generic small talk, & it was obvious where he was going with this. I literally didn’t say thing & really didn’t even make eye contact. He stalled out and finally asked if I spoke English! Ha! All I did was give a small smile & he wandered off. Also, depending on your location and what the circumstances are, silence hides the fact that you’re an American.

6. Ever had a conversation with your voicemail? Just because you’re traveling solo, doesn’t mean that anyone else needs to know that. I’ve been in a train station catching a 5am ride and had a guy sit relatively close. Really? In this vacant seemingly arena-esque structure, you’re going to sit there? Or perhaps you feel as though someone’s trying to size you up – use your cell. I’ve called my voicemail before and mused, “Sure, I’ll be there shortly…”, “Oh, do you want me to grab you a coffee too?”, “Can’t wait to see you guys!” and for good measure, “Love you too!” The essence is that there is someone’s expecting you shortly. I throw in “Love you too” because it gives off the presence of a male.

7. Splurge on cabs. I embrace walking everywhere or taking public transit. You’re among the locals and soaking up the neighborhood vibe. That being said, if it’s evening or for some reason I need a quick out, I’ll readily hop into a cab.

8. Don’t let them see you sweat! If you look flustered or caught out, it may escalate a situation. Use a combo of Tips #4, #6, #7 and leg it out of there.

9. Develop an alias. Does everyone really need to know your whole story? A lot of times while traveling you meet people in passing, and that’s as far as it goes. Maybe you’re “Kate” or “Abbey” or ” Vivian.” Use your best judgment. I have a family member that gets so caught up in conversation with passing travelers; she damn near gives them her Social Security Number and itinerary. Less is more!

10. Your turn. What’s your number 10?

I’m a firm believer of embracing life and not being some sweaty palmed nervous ninny. Go for it! Just don’t become a statistic.

What tips can you add? Any crazy stories? It’s all about learning from experience.

Thanks for joining me for Part Two of my top safety tips & don’t forget to check out Part One.

Safe Travels!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Top Safety Tips for Women Traveling Solo – Pt 2

  1. Stella May 22, 2012 at 4:47 am Reply

    My best bet while traveling solo is staying updated about my destination. I get all my bookings done in advance so that I don’t have a word with pesky touts. For other times I use # 5 as my best bet.

Let me know what your thoughts are!

