Ohhing & ahhing over fashion and food! Pret-a-Portea afternoon tea at The Berkeley (London)


Dubbed “A Fashionista’s Afternoon Tea,” this was a must for me on a recent trip to London earlier this year.

It just so happened to be London Fashion Week and the city was a buzz.

I absolutely love afternoon tea.  There is an ease and a decadence about it.  How indulgent to sit casually and savor flavorful finger food!  It’s a snackers paradise. 

I take every opportunity I have to seek out a new twist on the experience.  Discovering Pret-A-Portea was a great fit.  It’s young, hip, fashionable take on a longstanding English tradition was refreshing. 

Exclusively served at The Berkley in Knightsbridge, fashionistas alike savor the experience in The Caramel Room.  Reservations are a must.  Depending on the season, I found that The Caramel Room had tables available even as little as a week before a desired date.  The room has somewhat of a masculine feel with its dark hardwood tables, studded leather armchairs, and neutral accents.  It’s ambiance is a great contrast to the girly fare.     

I found it to be a very scrumptious and dignified experience.  When I arrived, I lucked out on a table by the window which had a beautifully decorated place card with my name on it – very nice touch.  I was greeted by a waiter who presented me with a menu and explained that the treats were the same, but I had a choice of  beverages.  For prices varying anywhere from £35 – £52, I could have a tiered pastry stand of treats and my choice of teas or different qualities of Champagne.  The savoury treats consisted of miniature skewers, canapés, and tea sandwiches.  The sweet treats consisted of truffles, shortbread cookies, mousse, sponge cakes, and macaroons.  Mind you that the entire collection of edible masterpieces were inspired by the themes and colors of the latest season’s fashion trends.  

I decided to indulge myself and chose the Billecart-Salmon Rose Champagne.  Within minutes the waiter arrived with a tiered pastry stand complete with multicolor stripped fine-bone china designed by Paul Smith for Thomas Goode.  The waiter then presented me with a postcard of photos from the runway that depicted the inspirations used to create each sweet treat.  He took the time to point out each designer’s photo and it’s corresponding pastry.  Many of The Greats were present: 

  • Louis Vuitton pale pink bunny ears on a base of chestnut & pomegranate mousse     
  • Matthew Williamson joconde sponge cake dress filled with lychee cream and spun sugar ruffles
  • Christian Dior almond macaroon with layered texture & white chocolate and blueberry ganache

The experience was phenomenal and highly recommended.  This season’s menu looks even more mouth-watering than the last!

Have you indulged?  I’d love to hear about your experience.

For more photos, check out my Facebook page!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ohhing & ahhing over fashion and food! Pret-a-Portea afternoon tea at The Berkeley (London)

  1. Towel Rails · November 13, 2010 at 3:39 am Reply

    Christian Dior is really a genious when it comes to making those fancy dresses “.

  2. bet365 October 3, 2010 at 9:12 am Reply

    hello!This was a really magnificentsuper subject!
    I come from endland, I was fortunate to come cross your theme in yahoo
    Also I obtain much in your blog really thanks very much i will come daily

Let me know what your thoughts are!

